Note: We will continue to update this resource in 2024, as we continue to conduct original surveys with our partners such as Associated Press and NORC, Surveymonkey, APIA Vote, Asian American Journalist Association, and Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC.

Last updated May 2, 2024

Welcome to AAPI Data’s 2024 Guide to Asian American & Pacific Islander (AAPI) Public Opinion. We have compiled timely insights from across a number of our survey data products to foster greater understanding of the distinct perspectives and viewpoints of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders on key issues and top political topics in a critical election year.

Source(s): all of the insights below have been pulled from our historical monthly survey series in partnership with the Associated Press and NORC that began in October 2023.

Click to jump to a specific topic or issue:

Top Policy Priorities

Concerns on Democracy

Candidate Favorability: Biden & Trump

Biden Presidential Approval

Economic Issues

Abortion Policy

Climate Change & Environment

The Israel-Hamas War


Top Policy Priorities

In our survey published in January 2024, we asked AAPI adults to name up to five issues that they wanted the government to address in 2024. This data collection used an innovative approach, using open-ended responses rather than close-ended responses, and translating responses where relevant. The results?

Inflation was the most commonly raised concern, mentioned by 31% of AAPI adults. The next top concerns were immigration (29%) the environment and climate change (25%), general economic concerns (24%), and health care reform (23%).

To learn more about this survey and its findings: view the in-depth report; review our briefing slides featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification); or read this blog post written by Janelle Wong, senior researcher at AAPI Data, contextualizing this data in this election year.

Another way to analyze issue importance for 2024 is to understand the extent to which AAPIs may be “single-issue voters,” meaning that they might not vote for a candidate based on their views on a particular issue. In our survey released in March 2024, we asked “Is it possible you could ever vote for a candidate who does not share your views on each of the following, or is this issue so important that you could never vote for a candidate who disagrees with you?”

Racism or discrimination received the highest mention (79%), followed by abortion policy (68%), gun policy (66%), crime or violence (65%), and immigration (63%). The survey also indicates that a majority are open to voting for candidates with differing views on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

To learn more about these survey findings: view the in-depth report; or review our briefing slides featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification).

Concerns about Democracy

Our survey released in December 2023 explored how AAPI communities feel about the United States’ democracy and overall direction of the country. 

The poll found that only 12% of AAPIs believe that democracy in the United States is working well. Additionally, over 4 in 5 (81%) believe the country is going in the wrong direction — this was particularly high among AAPI Republicans, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders, Korean Americans, and people born in the U.S. However, AAPI communities’ sense of pessimism is less pronounced than the general population (75% believe the U.S. is heading in the wrong direction).

When thinking about the upcoming 2024 U.S. election, 83% of AAPIs have concerns about misinformation in the U.S. election, surpassing concerns about voter suppression (46%), limitations on free speech (41%), and voter fraud (31%).

Digging a little deeper:

  • Concerns about misinformation are particularly high among Filipino and Korean Americans
  • Concerns about voter suppression are especially high among AAPI women; Japanese Americans and Filipino Americans
  • Concerns about free speech are especially high among NHPIs, Japanese and Korean Americans; Concern is higher among AAPI Republicans than AAPI Democrats
  • Concerns about voter fraud are higher among NHPIs, AAPI Republicans, and AAPIs 60 and older

To learn more about this survey and its findings: view the in-depth report; or review our briefing slides featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification).

Candidate Favorability: Biden & Trump

In our survey published in November 2023, AAPI adults were asked their opinions on the two primary presidential candidates for the 2024 race. 

About half of AAPI adults (52%) have a favorable opinion of Biden and Harris, which is higher than the general U.S. population (42%). Most (70%) hold an unfavorable opinion of Trump, also higher than the general U.S. population (58%). 

Regarding party identification, more within AAPI communities self-identify as Democrats than Republicans (53% vs. 27%). Twenty percent identify as independents, leaning towards neither major party. Democrats comprise a larger share of the AAPI population than they do of the general population (53% v 42%).

To learn more about this survey and its findings: view the in-depth report; or review our briefing slides featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification).

Biden Presidential Approval

Our surveys released in December 2023 and January 2024 polled AAPI adults on their approval of Joe Biden as president.

More than half of AAPI adults (54%) disapprove of how Biden is handling his job as president. Democrats (68%) are more likely to approve than either independents (30%) or Republicans (13%).  Biden’s approval is particularly low among Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders (only 22%). Generally, however, AAPI adults are more likely to approve of the president’s job when compared to the general population (45% vs. 38%).

In reference to key issues, more than half of AAPI adults disapprove of Biden’s handling of the economy (58%), student debt (54%), and inflation (67%), but a majority (55%) approve of how he is dealing with jobs. These views are similar to U.S. adults overall. 

AAPI partisans are divided: Democrats are at least twice as likely as Republicans to approve of the president’s handling of these issues.

To learn more about these survey findings: view the in-depth reports (Dec. ‘23; Jan. ‘24); or review our briefing slides (Dec. ‘23) featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification).

Economic Issues

In our survey published in January 2024, AAPI adults were asked about their views on the economy and their financial outlook.

Overall, few AAPI adults are feeling very confident about their finances, with only 30% feeling confident in their ability to keep up with their expenses; nearly 1 in 4 (26%) feeling confident in paying for an unexpected medical expense; and just over 1 in 5 (22%) feeling confident in having enough retirement savings. These shares match those of U.S. adults.

The survey also reveals that 2 in 3 (66%) AAPI adults have seen their household expenses increase in the past year, while nearly half (44%) reported their savings have decreased. Nearly a third held off on a major purchase in the last year due to higher interest rates, matching the share of all U.S adults (31%) who said the same.

When looking ahead to the next year, there is little optimism with less than a third of both AAPI adults and the general public feeling their own personal finances (30% for both), the national economy (23% vs.18%), or the country overall (19% vs.15%) will improve.

To learn more about these survey findings: view the in-depth report and topline results.

Abortion Policy

Our survey published in March 2024 delved into AAPI viewpoints on abortion policy.

Nearly 8 in 10 of AAPI adults (79%) say abortion should be legal in all or most cases, significantly higher than the general public (64%). We see this support across Asian ethnic groups, and this trend is even more pronounced among AAPI Democrats (95%) compared to AAPI Republicans (57%).

Most AAPI adults (75%) support Congress passing a law guaranteeing access to abortion nationwide compared to US adults overall (60%). This trend is even higher for AAPI Democrats (91%) compared to AAPI Republicans (51%).

Across AAPI communities, about 9 in 10 support legal abortion in cases where a pregnant person’s health is at risk, for instances of rape or incest, or the presence of a fatal fetal abnormality, aligning with the general U.S. population. However, AAPI adults (68%) are more inclined to support legal abortion in all circumstances, compared to 54% of U.S. adults overall. AAPI Democrats are more than twice as likely than AAPI Republicans to say legal abortion should be allowed when the person does not want to be pregnant for any reason (87% vs 40%).

To learn more about these survey findings: view the in-depth report; or review our briefing slides featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification).

Climate Change & Environment

In our survey published in April 2024, AAPI adults were asked about their views on climate change and the environment.

Eight in 10 AAPI adults believe that climate change is happening, a slightly higher share than that of U.S. adults who said the same in September 2023, the last time the question was asked of the general population.  

8 in 10 AAPI adults (79%) have been affected by at least one extreme weather event in the past five years. These experiences are similar to U.S. adults overall. 67% of AAPI adults say recent extreme weather events have heavily influenced their views on climate change compared to 52% of the general population. AAPI Democrats (84%) are more likely than AAPI Republicans (45%) to say extreme weather has influenced their climate views. 

AAPI adults report higher levels of concern than the general population about the effects of climate change on future generations, coastal communities, and their own lives. Almost three-quarters of AAPI adults (73%) are very or extremely concerned about climate change’s impact on future generations compared to the general population (62%). 

Digging a little deeper:

  • Two-thirds of NHPIs (66%) and Filipinos (67%) are very or extremely concerned about climate change’s impact on their own lives
  • A large share of NHPIs (70%), Asian Indians (75%), and Filipinos (70%) are concerned about climate change’s impact on coastal communities

7 in 10 of AAPI adults believe the US federal government (73%), other high-income countries (71%), and corporations (69%) bear significant responsibility for addressing climate change. In the long run, 75% of AAPI adults think environmental protection should be prioritized over economic growth. 

To learn more about these survey findings: view the in-depth report; or review our briefing slides featuring deep dives and disaggregated insights (by ethnicity, age, and party identification).

The Israel-Palestinian conflict

In our survey published in January 2024, AAPI adults were asked about foreign policy issues with particular focus on the Israel-Palestine conflict.

About half of AAPI adults (49%) believe that the US is not supportive enough of Palestinians in the conflict with Israelis, with nearly an identical share (48%) thinking it is too supportive of Israelis.

To learn more about this survey and its findings: view the in-depth report; or read the blog written by Janelle Wong, senior researcher at AAPI Data that dives deeper into AAPIs distinct views on the Israel-Palestinian conflict compared to U.S. adults more generally.